Beer Review – Stanlick’s Doc Holiday Porter

Yes, folks, I review my own beer. But, since you can’t buy this one for your weekend I’m giving it to you on a Wednesday. I’m often quite harder on it than things I buy. You see, when you’re homebrewing, you have an idea in your mind about what the look, smell and taste is going to be while you’re coming up with your recipe and brewing it. When it doesn’t come out exactly as you envisioned, you get critical of your process.

This particular beer came from an idea I had with some huckleberry syrup my parent’s brought back from Glacier National Park. I decided a porter could handle the tart huckleberry flavor better than some other styles. Plus, I figured if there is a style that’s hard to screw up, it’s a porter. This beer seems to get better the longer it ages in the bottle and the different flavors come out. This review is from a later bottle poured into a pint glass.

This pours a very dark brown, almost black color with very little light getting through. Pours about 1″, tan colored head that quickly dissipates to about 1/8″ and hangs around with plenty of lacing present. It has floral noise with the huckleberry coming through, although it’s not as strong as I thought it would be.

It is full bodied with a medium to almost heavy mouthfeel. Starts out a little sweet from the caramel malt, but has a hoppier finish than one would expect from a porter. While the huckleberry is present in the aroma, it very faint in the taste. Perhaps the brewmaster should’ve added it in the secondary fermenter rather than during the boil.

It’s a little hoppier than the porter style, but it really has a lot to offer. So much more than the first bottle I opened. Overall, this is a pretty easy drinking beer with more flavor every time I open a bottle. So, I haven’t opened one in a couple of weeks. (Perhaps this post will need an update shortly) It’s one of my better homebrews.

Grade: B+

2 responses to “Beer Review – Stanlick’s Doc Holiday Porter

  1. I didn’t realize Jeff Stanlick is a blogger. He is a pretty good writer .

Leave a Reply

